Life

The Fault in Our Stars

No, that fantastically poetic title is not of my own creation – it’s the name of the book I just finished, by John Green. I’d never heard of him before, but my friend suggested I read it, and also John Greens attending the mega Harry Potter convention I’m going to next weekend!

I didn’t know his style of writing, or even the premise of the book, but now that I’ve finished, it was exactly what I’d expected it to be.

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.” – A Fault in Our Stars, John Green

The premise: ‘Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has ever been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.’

Green adds unexpected humor to affliction, and sharp, witty intelligence to a love story. I’m excited to read his other works! And also, to watch his vlog. (At least for a few days or weeks until I slowly forget/don’t have time to follow him anymore, which just generally happens with me and YouTubers. It’s of no fault to their talents!)

But I do want to quote him one more time. He’s brilliant at describing human emotions and thoughts in raw, descriptive, yet very simple ways.

“We stared at the house for a while. The weird thing about houses is that they almost always look like nothing is happening inside of them, even though they contain most of our lives.”

And I haven’t even mentioned the chapters that are essentially a love story to Amsterdam. I went to Amsterdam last February and fell in love with so many of the things John Green evidently did – the city’s adamant refusal to rely on vehicles, that you can look anywhere and a canal will be in sight, the fact that some Dutch locals speak better English than Americans – and to top it all off, Hazel and Augustus, the main characters, stay in Hotel de Filosoof (Hotel of Philosophers), where I stayed! Each room was named of a different philosopher. Unfortunately, I can’t remember my room…

Front door to Hotel de Filosoof, where I stayed in Amsterdam, and so did Hazel and Augustus!

Update: I looked up “Nerdfighters” and Urban Dictionary came up. This is what it said:

1. Nerdfighters
People who instead of being made up of cells and organs and stuff are actually made out of awesome.
They fight decepticons on behalf of Nerds everywhere!
John and Hank Green are made of awesome Nerdfighters.

Standard

2 thoughts on “The Fault in Our Stars

Leave a Reply

